You are here

WestGrid announces inaugural Board of Directors

KELOWNA, BC (13 April 2018) – WestGrid announced its new Board of Directors today, presenting a diverse slate of experts and community leaders from the academic, public, and private sectors.

“WestGrid serves a powerfully diverse research community and this board’s mix of skills, experience, gender, and geography will ensure the voices of all members of that community – from our users to stakeholders to partners – are represented in WestGrid’s planning, governance, and operations,” said Lindsay Sill, WestGrid's Chief Executive Officer. “This is the start of an exciting new era for WestGrid and positions our organization to better anticipate and effectively address the evolving needs of Western Canada’s research computing community.”

The new WestGrid Board of Directors includes:

  • John Hepburn, CIFAR Vice-President, Research (Chair) 
  • Rachana Ananthakrishnan, Head of Products, Globus, University of Chicago
  • Jay Black, WestGrid Applicant Board Member
  • Dean Chapman, Science Director, Canadian Light Source
  • James Colliander, PIMS Director, University of British Columbia, Professor of Mathematics
  • J.P. Heale, Managing Director, UILO, University of British Columbia
  • Rainer Iraschko, TELUS, Principal Technology Architect (PTA)
  • Ruth Marinshaw, CTO, Stanford Research Computing
  • Sergei Noskov, Professor University of Calgary
  • Jeff Ryzner, President, North Forge Technology Exchange

The Board will oversee and advise on WestGrid operations and strategic planning, such as approving decisions on resources and service delivery or initiatives that set future directions for the organization.

WestGrid incorporated as a not-for-profit organization on February 9, 2017 and since then has been operating under an interim applicant board of three independent individuals – Ken Hewitt, former president of Cybera; Seamus O’Shea, former VP Academic of the University of Lethbridge; and Jay Black, former CIO of Simon Fraser University and Waterloo University.

“Alongside welcoming our new board, I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Ken, Seamus, and Jay for serving as our applicant board and providing valuable guidance and oversight during this evolution in WestGrid’s governance. Jay will sit on the Board for another year to assist with the transition, and I look forward to continuing to work with him,” said Sill. “Overall, I was pleased to see a great deal of interest in our inaugural call for Board members and I'd like to thank everyone who applied. It demonstrates how passionate our community is about advancing and supporting research and innovation in Western Canada. With this new board in place, I'm confident in WestGrid's ability to continue driving that forward.”

Click here to meet WestGrid's inaugural Board of Directors.