You are here

WestGrid training webinars and workshops announced for Winter/Spring 2021

WestGrid Research Computing Winter School University of Victoria

WestGrid runs training activities year-round and has expanded its online offerings to range from webinars to interactive workshops to multi-day Research Computing Shools. Mark your calendars for the upcoming online training activities we're planning for Winter/Spring 2021. 

Webinars

Registration for most of these sessions is now open (click on the titles to be taken to the registration forms), and our speakers will be finalizing the details of their topics closer to their sessions. Join our mailing list to be notified of updates!

Note: WestGrid’s training webinars take place at 10am Pacific / 11am Mountain / 12pm Central / 1 pm Eastern / 2 pm Atlantic. 

DATE                      TOPIC SPEAKER                          
January 20 Workflows with Programmable Filter/Source in ParaView Alex Razoumov (WestGrid)
February 03 GIS in R - Part 2
Click here to view our 'GIS in R - Part 1' recording
Marie-Hélène Burle (WestGrid)
February 17 Topic TBC TBC
March 03 Linking databases to code repositories with Throughput Simon Goring (UBC / University of Wisconsin-Madison)
March 17 Parallel Programming in Julia Marie-Hélène Burle and Alex Razoumov (WestGrid)
March 31 Exploring the state of a Slurm cluster Kamil Marcinkowski (University of Alberta)
April 14 Introduction to using fastai Marie-Hélène Burle (WestGrid)
April 28 NVIDIA's IndeX and OptiX Alex Razoumov (WestGrid)
May 12 Exploration of ARC tools and approaches for Humanists Megan Meredith-Lobay (UBC)
May 26 Using Singularity containers in virtual machines and HPC Venkat Mahadaven (UBC)

 

Other workshops

We're pleased to be involved with and/or support the advertising of these other training workshops happening at our Member Institutions. Any sessions without a hyperlink to more information will be finalised in early 2021. Join our mailing list to be notified!

DATE                           EVENT LOCATION - HOST                         
January 14 Tips & tricks on getting programming help online Online - WestGrid / UBC Research Commons
February TBC University of Alberta Research Computing Bootcamp
Details coming soon...
Online - University of Alberta
February 11 Automating your backups in Linux and MacOS Online - WestGrid / UBC Research Commons
February 16-19 Compute Canada Humanities and Social Sciences series Online - Compute Canada Federation
March 11 Extending Julia codes to multiple CPU cores Online - WestGrid / UBC Research Commons
April 08 GIS in R Online - WestGrid / UBC Research Commons
May 13 Topic TBC Online - WestGrid / UBC Research Commons
April - June (TBD) WestGrid Research Computing Modules Online - WestGrid

Past Events

Visit our Training Materials site for archives of past training sessions, including video recordings, exercise sheets, how-to guides, and more. We welcome requests for other training topics and events, and can arrange for customised workshops or programs depending on your teams' needs. Please email training@westgrid.ca.

More Information

If you have any questions or would like more information about any of the events listed above, contact training@westgrid.ca.