You are here

Nominate a Compute Canada Expert for an Award of Excellence!

TORONTO, ON (January 20, 2017) - Compute Canada has launched its annual Awards of Excellence to recognize exceptional contributions made by the advanced research computing (ARC) experts who help Canada’s research community achieve bigger, better, and faster results.

Compute Canada’s mission is to create and sustain a world-class advanced research computing platform that is accessible by researchers in all disciplines — independent of resource or researcher location. This mission is made possible by Compute Canada’s greatest resource: our people. As a national organization with a membership that includes more than 37 research universities, Compute Canada has access to a wealth of expertise, drawn from highly trained people and from research institutions across the country. More than 200 staff and support personnel are distributed from coast to coast, and employed by a university or one of Compute Canada’s four regional partners ACENET, Calcul Québec, Compute Ontario and WestGrid.

Researchers, regional directors and Compute Canada team members can nominate Compute Canada experts who provided exceptional support or service to a researcher or research group. All submissions will be reviewed by Compute Canada’s Senior Management Team.

Each award recipient will receive a $500 cash prize. One recipient will receive a special additional prize for outstanding achievement. The award ceremony will take place at the High Performance Computing Symposium (HPCS) in Kingston this coming June 2017. Recipients will also be featured on Compute Canada’s website and in the newsletter.

Submissions are due by April 21, 2017.

Last year, three staff members based at partner institutions within WestGrid received Compute Canada Awards of Excellence: Hossein Pourreza, a High Performance Computing Specialist at the University of Manitoba; John Simpson, Compute Canada’s Digital Humanities Specialist, who is based at the University of Alberta; and Dugan O’Neil, a member of the WestGrid Executive Team and also Compute Canada’s Chief Science Officer.

For more information, or to nominate an ARC expert, visit the Compute Canada Awards of Excellence webpage.