You are here

Network

Network System Status

Post date System Status: Update Notes
2014-12-30 - 18:02 PST Conditions

Fibre cut between Vancouver and Calgary at Exshaw

WestGrid network between BC and Alberta is restored, but further work in Banff area is still on going. Hope it would not impact us again.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-30 20:00 EST(2014-12-31 01:00 UTC) ==

Splicing work is still ongoing however our fiber has been restored.

Light levels and services are being verified.

Traffic appears to be restored.

There has been a fibre cut at Exshaw between Calgary and Vancouver. Direct connections to WestGrid systems in Alberta, Saskatchew and Manitoba are not working. The workaround is to ssh first to a BC system (like bugaboo.westgrid.ca) and then ssh to to your desired system.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-30 07:51 EST(2014-12-30 12:51 UTC) ==

Due to extreme cold temperature last night work had to stop. Work will continue this morning.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-29 07:04 EST(2014-12-29 12:04 UTC) ==

West side of fiber splicing has been completed.

Excavation of east side is progressing slower than expected due to frozen ground.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-27 07:25 EST(2014-12-27 12:25 UTC) ==

During cleanup train bridge collapsed, ceasing repair work. Cleanup work not expected to resume until 10amET. Time of repair is still unknown.


Details from CANARIE:

Subject:            Lake Louise - Exshaw AB - Fiber Cut

Category:           Outage

Ticket ID:          20141226-001

Start Time:         2014-12-26 04:00 EST (2014-12-26 09:00 UTC)

End Time:           2014-00-00 00:00 UTC (2014-00-00 00:00 UTC)

== Created: Richard on 2014-12-26 06:43 EST(2014-12-26 11:43 UTC) ==

Fiber cut between Lake Louise and Exshaw is impacting all Calgary to Vancouver traffic.  No estimated time of repair exists however the fiber provider is working to resolve.

2014-12-30 - 06:21 PST Offline

Fibre cut between Vancouver and Calgary at Exshaw

There has been a fibre cut at Exshaw between Calgary and Vancouver. Direct connections to WestGrid systems in Alberta, Saskatchew and Manitoba are not working. The workaround is to ssh first to a BC system (like bugaboo.westgrid.ca) and then ssh to to your desired system.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-30 07:51 EST(2014-12-30 12:51 UTC) ==

Due to extreme cold temperature last night work had to stop. Work will continue this morning.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-29 07:04 EST(2014-12-29 12:04 UTC) ==

West side of fiber splicing has been completed.

Excavation of east side is progressing slower than expected due to frozen ground.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-27 07:25 EST(2014-12-27 12:25 UTC) ==

During cleanup train bridge collapsed, ceasing repair work. Cleanup work not expected to resume until 10amET. Time of repair is still unknown.


Details from CANARIE:

Subject:            Lake Louise - Exshaw AB - Fiber Cut

Category:           Outage

Ticket ID:          20141226-001

Start Time:         2014-12-26 04:00 EST (2014-12-26 09:00 UTC)

End Time:           2014-00-00 00:00 UTC (2014-00-00 00:00 UTC)

== Created: Richard on 2014-12-26 06:43 EST(2014-12-26 11:43 UTC) ==

Fiber cut between Lake Louise and Exshaw is impacting all Calgary to Vancouver traffic.  No estimated time of repair exists however the fiber provider is working to resolve.

2014-12-29 - 07:17 PST Offline

Fibre cut between Vancouver and Calgary at Exshaw

There has been a fibre cut at Exshaw between Calgary and Vancouver. Direct connections to WestGrid systems in Alberta, Saskatchew and Manitoba are not working. The workaround is to ssh first to a BC system (like bugaboo.westgrid.ca) and then ssh to to your desired system.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-29 07:04 EST(2014-12-29 12:04 UTC) ==

West side of fiber splicing has been completed.

Excavation of east side is progressing slower than expected due to frozen ground.

== Updated: Richard on 2014-12-27 07:25 EST(2014-12-27 12:25 UTC) ==

During cleanup train bridge collapsed, ceasing repair work. Cleanup work not expected to resume until 10amET. Time of repair is still unknown.


Details from CANARIE:

Subject:            Lake Louise - Exshaw AB - Fiber Cut

Category:           Outage

Ticket ID:          20141226-001

Start Time:         2014-12-26 04:00 EST (2014-12-26 09:00 UTC)

End Time:           2014-00-00 00:00 UTC (2014-00-00 00:00 UTC)

== Created: Richard on 2014-12-26 06:43 EST(2014-12-26 11:43 UTC) ==

Fiber cut between Lake Louise and Exshaw is impacting all Calgary to Vancouver traffic.  No estimated time of repair exists however the fiber provider is working to resolve.

2014-12-26 - 10:22 PST Offline

Fibre cut between Vancouver and Calgary at Exshaw

There has been a fibre cut at Exshaw between Calgary and Vancouver. Direct connections to WestGrid systems in Alberta, Saskatchew and Manitoba are not working. The workaround is to ssh first to a BC system (like bugaboo.westgrid.ca) and then ssh to to your desired system.


Details from CANARIE:

Subject:            Lake Louise - Exshaw AB - Fiber Cut

Category:           Outage

Ticket ID:          20141226-001

Start Time:         2014-12-26 04:00 EST (2014-12-26 09:00 UTC)

End Time:           2014-00-00 00:00 UTC (2014-00-00 00:00 UTC)

== Created: Richard on 2014-12-26 06:43 EST(2014-12-26 11:43 UTC) ==

Fiber cut between Lake Louise and Exshaw is impacting all Calgary to Vancouver traffic.  No estimated time of repair exists however the fiber provider is working to resolve.

2014-12-23 - 06:58 PST Downtime Scheduled

Winnipeg POP Power Upgrade Jan.10

CANARIE Winnipeg PoP will undergo a major power equipment upgrade during the time noted above. All Layer 2 services will be unavailable for up to 6 hrs, however the entire window is reserved.

The WestGrid Saskatoon-Winnipeg lightpath will be affected.

2014-12-23 - 06:55 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on December 23, 2014 - 7:55 MST

2014-11-21 - 10:23 PST Downtime Scheduled

Nov.27 Network upgrade on Vancouver-Victoria link

On 27 November 2014, between 0700 and 0800 PST BCNet will be performing a network upgrade on the link between Vancouver and Victoria.  During this time we can expect a 15-minute interruption in external network traffic and connection drops.

Internal networks and connections on campus should not be affected.

Pages