You are here

Network

Network System Status

Post date System Status: Update Notes
2017-01-26 - 06:39 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on January 26, 2017 - 7:39 MST

2016-12-13 - 13:32 PST Downtime Scheduled

Vancouver router update Dec.22

There will be a network interruption of about 15 minutes while CANARIE updates the core router. Some BC users may experience network dropouts.

Original CANFARIE Message:

Subject:            Router Junos Upgrades: Vancouver
Category:           Scheduled maintenance
Ticket ID:          20161213-001
Start Time:         2016-12-22 09:00 EST (2016-12-22 14:00 UTC)
End Time:           2014-12-22 11:00 EST (2014-12-22 16:00 UTC)


== Created: Tao on 2016-12-13 13:08 EST(2016-12-13 18:08 UTC) ==

Reason: Core router Junos upgrade in Vancouver.

Effects: There will be a network interruption of up to 15 minutes 
during the upgrade . Members with no diverse or failover links into the BCNET 
Vancouver Exchange will experience Peering Services, Research Network and 
Internet Transit service interruptions during the upgrades.



Impacted Services and Peering:
10005CS00-WestGrid-VNCV1
10030CS11-NRC-VCTR3-KLWN1
10030CS14-NRC-VCTR3-VNCV2
10100CS01-StatCan-RDC
10100CS02-StatCan-RDC
10100CS11-RDC-VNCV1-VCTR2
10108CS06-ECONET-VNCV1-MTRL2
10228CS01-TRIUMF-VNCV1-TORO1
10228CS02-TRIUMF-VNCV1-MTRL2
10229CS01-Obsidian-PacWave_EDMN1_VNCV1
10252CS01-BCNET-VNCV1-CLGR2
10265CS02-GLORIAD-STTL1-CHCG1_L2CA
10310CS01-CANARIE-OTWA3-VNCV1-Office_Internet_Secondary
10902CS01-SAVI-VNCV1-TORO1
LHCONE-VNCV1

2016-12-13 - 13:27 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on November 27, 2016. Seemed to go very smoothly with no user-visible effects.

2016-11-25 - 07:06 PST Downtime Scheduled

BCNet Victoria Transit Exchange emergency maintenance Nov.27

From:       06:00 PST Sunday, November 27, 2016

To:           08:00 PST Sunday, November 27, 2016

 

Reason:   BCNET will be conducting emergency maintenance work on the core router at the Victoria Exchange to fix a memory corruption issue.

          

Effects:    All members with services in Victoria will be impacted during this maintenance window.  Members will experience 1 to 3 service interruptions of up to 15 minutes each during this period.

 

WestGrid impact: Users may see an interruption of network access to hermes/nestor and west.cloud.

 

2016-11-08 - 06:40 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on November 8, 2016 - 7:40 MST

2016-11-03 - 08:38 PDT Downtime Scheduled

BCNET Vancouver Router upgrade Sunday November 13, 2016 - 06:00 - 08:00

From: 06:00 PST Sunday, November 13, 2016

To:   08:00 PST Sunday, November 13, 2016

 

Reason: BCNET is conducting a core router Junos upgrade in Vancouver.

 

Effects: There will be a network interruption of up to 20 minutes during the upgrade .

Another interruption of up to 40 minutes as new hardware are installed.

Impacts are localized to some of the Vancouver Lower Mainland members and services.

 

Access to WestGrid BC systems (orcinus, bugaboo, hermes/nestor) may be interrupted during the upgrade.

 

Internet Transit services will be operational during this maintenance.

2016-09-06 - 11:21 PDT Online

System fully operational

Finished on September 6, 2016 - 18:21 GMT

Pages