You are here

Network

Network System Status

Post date System Status: Update Notes
2017-01-31 - 16:30 PST Online

UVic network issues.

Update:

The issue is resolved.

Original Notice:

Getting to other clusters such as jasper, orcinus and grex from within UVic is not working. Please  log into hermes/nestor and then from there to other clusters until the issue is resolved.

2017-01-31 - 13:03 PST Testing

UVic network issues.

Getting to other clusters such as jasper, orcinus and grex from within UVic is not working. Please  log into hermes/nestor and then from there to other clusters until the issue is resolved.

2017-01-26 - 06:39 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on January 26, 2017 - 7:39 MST

2016-12-13 - 13:32 PST Downtime Scheduled

Vancouver router update Dec.22

There will be a network interruption of about 15 minutes while CANARIE updates the core router. Some BC users may experience network dropouts.

Original CANFARIE Message:

Subject:            Router Junos Upgrades: Vancouver
Category:           Scheduled maintenance
Ticket ID:          20161213-001
Start Time:         2016-12-22 09:00 EST (2016-12-22 14:00 UTC)
End Time:           2014-12-22 11:00 EST (2014-12-22 16:00 UTC)


== Created: Tao on 2016-12-13 13:08 EST(2016-12-13 18:08 UTC) ==

Reason: Core router Junos upgrade in Vancouver.

Effects: There will be a network interruption of up to 15 minutes 
during the upgrade . Members with no diverse or failover links into the BCNET 
Vancouver Exchange will experience Peering Services, Research Network and 
Internet Transit service interruptions during the upgrades.



Impacted Services and Peering:
10005CS00-WestGrid-VNCV1
10030CS11-NRC-VCTR3-KLWN1
10030CS14-NRC-VCTR3-VNCV2
10100CS01-StatCan-RDC
10100CS02-StatCan-RDC
10100CS11-RDC-VNCV1-VCTR2
10108CS06-ECONET-VNCV1-MTRL2
10228CS01-TRIUMF-VNCV1-TORO1
10228CS02-TRIUMF-VNCV1-MTRL2
10229CS01-Obsidian-PacWave_EDMN1_VNCV1
10252CS01-BCNET-VNCV1-CLGR2
10265CS02-GLORIAD-STTL1-CHCG1_L2CA
10310CS01-CANARIE-OTWA3-VNCV1-Office_Internet_Secondary
10902CS01-SAVI-VNCV1-TORO1
LHCONE-VNCV1

2016-12-13 - 13:27 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on November 27, 2016. Seemed to go very smoothly with no user-visible effects.

2016-11-25 - 07:06 PST Downtime Scheduled

BCNet Victoria Transit Exchange emergency maintenance Nov.27

From:       06:00 PST Sunday, November 27, 2016

To:           08:00 PST Sunday, November 27, 2016

 

Reason:   BCNET will be conducting emergency maintenance work on the core router at the Victoria Exchange to fix a memory corruption issue.

          

Effects:    All members with services in Victoria will be impacted during this maintenance window.  Members will experience 1 to 3 service interruptions of up to 15 minutes each during this period.

 

WestGrid impact: Users may see an interruption of network access to hermes/nestor and west.cloud.

 

2016-11-08 - 06:40 PST Online

System fully operational

Finished on November 8, 2016 - 7:40 MST

Pages