You are here

5th IUPAP International Conference on Women in Physics


Tuesday, August 5, 2014 - 7:00 MDT to Friday, August 8, 2014 - 7:00 MDT


This unique conference series brings together delegates from around the world to:

  • Showcase and celebrate scientific work in all areas of physics 
  • Develop resolutions to address gender issues and promote the participation of women in physics 
  • Provide networking opportunities to build a strong, diverse and inclusive worldwide physics community

ICWIP 2014 will feature plenary talks by distinguished speakers from around the world. Currently confirmed speakers include:

  • Melissa Franklin, Mallinckrodt Professor and Chair of Physics, Harvard University 
  • Silvia Torres-Peimbert, Professor Emeritus, Institute of Astronomy, Mexico City University and President Elect of the Executive Committee, International Astronomical Union
  • Claudia Felser, Professor, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Director, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden 
  • Sabine Stanley, Associate Professor and Canada Research Chair in Planetary Physics, University of Toronto 
  • Patience Mthunzi, Senior Scientist Researcher, National Laser Centre - Biophotoncs, Council for Scientific and Industrial Research, South Africa 
  • Tsai-Chien Chiang, Editor in Chief of the China Times and author of "Madam Wu Chien-Shiung: The First Lady of Physics Research"