You are here


WestGrid's Evolution


History of WestGrid and Compute Canada

Compute Canada announced the appointment of Robbin Tourangeau as Interim President & CEO.
WestGrid elected its inaugural Board of Directors.

WestGrid incorporated as a not-for-profit organization on February 9, 2017. Compute Canada and WestGrid launch the Cedar supercomputer at Simon Fraser University. Compute Canada and Compute Ontario launch the Graham supercomputer at the University of Waterloo.

Compute Canada and WestGrid launch the Arbutus supercomputer at the University of Victoria.

Compute Canada released its 2014-2019 Strategic Plan for a final round of community input. Mark Dietrich was appointed as President and Chief Executive Officer.

Compute Canada began a national consultation process to gather input into a five-year strategic plan to guide the organization to 2019. Compute Canada appointed Dugan O’Neil as Chief Science Officer and created a new Advisory Council on Research committee to advise the Board of Directors on critical issues affecting the Canadian research community.

Compute Canada was incorporated under the Canada Not-for-Profit Corporations act. The new organization’s Applicant Board met and admitted 27 institutions as the first Compute Canada Members. Compute Canada’s inaugural Board of Directors was elected. Compute Canada received $30 million from the CFI for maintenance and operating funds.

The seven HPC consortia were replaced by four regional divisions: WestGrid, Compute Ontario (HPCVL, SciNet, SHARCNET), Calcul Québec (CLUMEQ and RQCHP), and ACENET.

Compute Canada’s first Executive Director was hired.

WestGrid collaborated with six other regional HPC consortia (HPCVL, SciNet, SHARCNET, CLUMEQ, RQCHP and ACEnet) to form Compute Canada Calcul Canada. Compute Canada was awarded $60 million by the CFI under its National Platforms Fund program and $2 million/year by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC).